10 Must-Read Books for November

November Must-Read Books

Looking for a good book to read? I’m sharing 10 must-read books to add to your fall reading list. Books to inspire, encourage, and keep you up way past your bedtime.

1.      PERIOD REPAIR MANUAL: NATURAL TREATMENT FOR BETTER HORMONES AND PERIODS | Dr. Laura Briden: Period Repair Manual is your guide to healthier periods using natural treatments such as diet, nutritional supplements, herbal medicine, and bioidentical hormones. It is a practical, user-friendly manual. Topics include: How to Come Off the Pill, What Your Period Should Be Like, What Can Go Wrong, and How to Talk to Your Doctor. The second half of the book is a comprehensive treatment guide including general maintenance, and treatment protocols for specific period problems such as PCOS, PMS, heavy periods, endometriosis, and more.

I also recommend reading Dr. Briden’s blog.

Listen to an interview with Dr. Briden discussing her book and period health here.

2.    THE RED NOTEBOOK  Antoine Laurain: This delightful book is about a bookseller named Laurent Letellier, who finds an abandoned ladies handbag on a Parisian street. Laurant is determined to locate the owner and return it to them. The only problem is the handbag contains no phone or contact details. The only thing of significance is a small red notebook with the handwritten thoughts and feelings of a person Laurent would like very much to meet. What then follows is an enchanting story of discovery, and of how the search for someone can reveal far more about ourselves, than the person for whom we search.

3.    SMOKE | Catherine McKenzie: Smoke is Catherine McKenzie’s mesmerizing page-turner about a raging forest fire that may or may not conceal a crime. Part mystery, part roller-coaster read about secrets and trust, and the complexities of marriage and friendship, Smoke will keep you up all night. This is a great title for a book club discussion.

4.    THE UNTHINKABLE: WHO SURVIVES WHEN DISASTER STRIKES AND WHY | Amanda Ripley: Ripley’s book developed after she wrote an article about the 9/11 survivors who got out of the World Trade Center alive after the 2001 terrorist attacks. It is not a how-to book but aims to help us predict how we might behave by tracing common disaster responses.  She searches for patterns in human behavior by interviewing hundreds of people who survived catastrophes. This book is a very informative book with useful information that will make you think about how you might react in life-threatening situations.

5.    HOODWINKED: TEN MYTHS MOMS BELIEVE AND WHY WE ALL NEED TO KNOCK IT OFF | Karen Ehman and Ruth Schwenk: If you are a mom this book is for you. It will encourage you and lift you up. It will help you push on through those bad days and days you feel insignificant and help you establish meaningful relationships with other moms.

6.    WHIP IT UP Billy Green: Billy Green is the voice behind the blog Wit & VinegarI enjoy reading Billy’s blog. I mean who can’t resist following a guy that loves coffee and Mexican food and admits to eating a bowl of guacamole with a spoon in one sitting. Billy’s new cookbook just came out and features over 75 recipes from Breakfast to doggie treats. I can’t pass up a cookbook with an entire chapter devoted to Tacos. All of the recipes are fun and easy to follow. Here’s the recipe for Billy’s Nutella Brownies featured in the cookbook. Be sure and check out Billy’s blog for great recipes and fun!

7.    TELL ME THREE THINGS  | Julie Buxbaum:  Tell Me Three Things is the story of a girl named Jessie who’s life has been turned upside down. Jessie’s mom died, and her dad remarried and moved the family to California. The story revolves around an anonymous email Jessie receives after moving to Los Angles. This anonymous person seems to understand Jessie more than she understands herself and helps her navigate her new life. Just when she thinks she has figured out who is sending her the emails, this person becomes more of a mystery. With a cast of characters you’ll fall in love with, and a storyline to break your heart and make you feel hope, wonder and emotions all over the place, Tell Me Three Things is a book for young adults and adults and will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

8.    AUDACIOUS Beth Moore: This quote sums up Beth Moore’s new book, “If only you knew what He has for you. Not only after you kiss this life goodbye but, here on this earth and in this season. If only you knew, your heart would be so swept up in audacious love that nothing could keep you from the life you were born to live.” I can’t wait to read it!

9.  ALEXANDER HAMILTON | Ron Chernow:  I can’t wait to see Broadway’s hottest show, Hamilton! In the meantime, I plan on reading Ron Chernow’s account of Hamilton’s life. When Alexander Hamilton was ten years old, his father abandoned him. His mother died of a fever in the bed next to his when he was twelve years old. He was adopted by a cousin, who promptly committed suicide. During those same years, his aunt, uncle and grandmother also died. A court in St. Croix seized all of his possessions, sold off his personal effects and gave the rest to his mother’s first husband. By the time he was a young teenager, he and his brother were orphaned, alone and destitute. A few years later, he was a successful businessman. Nearly a decade later, he was George Washington’s chief of staff, organizing the American revolutionary army and serving bravely in combat. He was one of New York’s most successful lawyers and had written major portions of The Federalist Papers. He also served as Treasury secretary and forged the modern financial and economic systems. His life ended in a tragic way. Add this title to your reading list if you enjoy American history and don’t miss seeing Hamilton on Broadway.

10.  THE ONE THING: THE SURPRISINGLY SIMPLE TRUTH ABOUT EXTRADIONARY RESULTS | Gary Keller: What’s the ONE Thing you can do such that by doing it everything else will be easier or unnecessary? In the number one Wall Street Journal bestseller, Gary Keller has identified that behind every successful person is their ONE Thing. No matter how success is measured, personal or professional, only the ability to dismiss distractions and concentrate on your ONE Thing stands between you and your goals. The ONE Thing is about getting extraordinary results in every situation.

If you enjoyed this post, please share it with your friends!

And I would love to know what books are you reading lately? Tell me in the comments!

YOU MAY HAVE MISSED:

Link Love: Edward Snowden Explains How to Reclaim Your Privacy + Raising Resilient Kids + Airbnb Safety + Free iPhone Travel Guides + Why Women Love to Bake + How to Make the Perfect Cup of Coffee + More Good Reads!

November To Do List: Adele + Giada’s new show + Baking Blog + Broadway Musical + Christie Brinkley’s Beauty Secrets + Hot New restaurant in Chicago + More Things To Do All Month Long!

November Newsletter: DC Travel Guide + Decorating Resources + Thanksgiving Tips + Tech Tips + Gluten-Free News + More!

  • I think I need to read “Hamilton!” I’ve heard so much about the show here lately that I’m interested to learn more about his life. I don’t think I’ll ever manage to get tickets, they’re always sold out! Right now, the first available are in April!

    • Wow! I guess I need to buy a ticket in advance. Have you listened to the soundtrack? It’s really popular too.

  • Oooh, a whole list of books I don’t know anything about! That doesn’t happen very often, so it’s fun 🙂 Intrigued by The Red Notebook, as I always love stories about booksellers, and Tell Me Three Things, as I’ve been into those other YA authors you mentioned lately. Thanks for all the great suggestions!

    I’m currently reading The Gates of Evangeline – shaping up to be a good mystery!

    • Thanks Anne for sharing “The Gates of Evangeline.” I will add that to my reading list. I love a good mystery.

  • Oooh, a whole list of books I don’t know anything about! That doesn’t happen very often, so it’s fun 🙂 Intrigued by The Red Notebook, as I always love stories about booksellers, and Tell Me Three Things, as I’ve been into those other YA authors you mentioned lately. Thanks for all the great suggestions!

    I’m currently reading The Gates of Evangeline – shaping up to be a good mystery!